Just In Case…

One of the most distinct sermon illustrations I remember was from my college days. The pastor, Tim Wheat, was doing a skit called the “Just in Case Kit”. It went something like this- He was talking to God and telling Him how much he could be trusted. But, “just in case” God didn’t come through when he wanted and in the way he wanted then Tim had his kit he could open up. For example, “God I trust you to provide for my finances. But, just in case you don’t then I can open up a new credit card”. He went on to make the point that it’s easy to say that we trust God until we don’t get what we want, when we want it but then what do we do? Do we lose faith?

The honest answer of course is “yes”. We do lose faith- easily. We lose faith in ourselves, our loved ones and humanity in general. We have learned that a relationship might take years to cultivate and grow but can be destroyed in minutes. So, we carry around a “just in case” kit for every relationship- not just for God. We have come to expect we will be let down or that we will let someone else down. We do not want to be caught off guard or left alone.

Preparation is a good thing but it can be a hindrance to intimacy and growth. Sometimes we have to let go of the “just in case” kit and trust in someone besides ourselves. This can be scary for multiple reasons- I like to think I am self-reliant, I’m tired of being let down, I am insecure about my abilities. These are some of my reasons for carrying my kit around.

But, over the past several years I have been learning to trust and let go of my kit.I am learning to fully trust and be vulnerable. I am learning to listen and to be teachable. I am learning to appreciate the views and ideas of others that I would have normally dismissed because it could possibly challenge my way of life. In short- I am evolving.

I was asked recently where I see myself in five years. I told the person that I have absolutely no idea. If you had asked me five years ago where I wanted to be in five years I would never have said where I am today. But, I have come to the conclusion that I trust in a God that knows the truest desires of my heart. He places me where I need to be to become the person He wants me to be for the purpose He has planned for me.

While I might be learning to leave my kit behind I always know where to find it. Right now, it’s never too far away from me. Maybe someday I will learn to forget about it all together and will not lose faith at the slightest let down. Hopefully someday I will not carry around that baggage any longer. It has grown pretty heavy over the years.

What things do you have in your “just in case” kit?

About freedomunearthed

This is a forum for everyone to come clean-to be who they really are without fear of shame or judgement. This is a safe place for a community of people to share their real life struggles, fears, pain or questions. This is a mix of people's stories, addressing real issue in real ways and some inspirational writings. This is a Christian based blog that welcomes everyone to join and share in the conversation.
This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

